Uncategorized

How I contributed to bullying. 


I’m sure if you don’t live under a rock then you’ve heard of a new tv show called, “13 Reasons Why”. When it came out there were mixed reviews, people raved about how great it was and how it brought light to the topics of bullying and suicide. People ranted that it should have shown that suicide was not the only option and that it might make people consider suicide.

Either way, the topics of bullying and suicide are difficult to approach because of the severity of them. Recently I had asked a good friend of mine, Julianna Bouffard to guest write a short piece on how she’s overcome a bullying situation over her years at school, where people with bigger egos than their heads are constantly finding fault with her and spreading malicious content.
Speaking honestly? I’ll admit at some point or another I contributed to this “bullying” of my childhood best friend, who was more like family, as close as a sister. Sometimes you feel frustrated and call people venting about someone, the next thing you know those very people are using that information to spread malicious gossip about that person. 
For awhile I went along with it, I didn’t want to lose friends. I’ve been through a lot in life, various types of abuse and control have brought me to the point where I don’t like to be told what to do. I want to feel like I can make all my own decisions, nobody controls me. 
It got to the point where I felt I could not ignore the bullying of my best friend. The constant, “Oh I hope she doesn’t come back to school” or the constant whispers and questions about her.

Why do I share this you may ask?

See, sometimes I think we go along with what people do not realizing that it’s bullying. Maybe we do realize it and just don’t care, or are afraid to stand up for those victimized. Perhaps maybe we gossip, not realizing the full extent of our actions and how it may affect others.

My friend has dealt with contemplating suicide on multiple accounts, she as well as I struggle with depression on a daily basis. 

I think Ephesians 4:29 sums it up correctly: 

Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.

We are all human and whether or not we want to admit it we have gossiped, or done something hurtful to another person. 

However, let us build each other up in Christ. There is so much grace and freedom and forgiveness in Christ. Whether or not someone offends us, frustrates us, or maybe we don’t get along with them let us approach situations and people with grace and ease. After all, Christ was nailed to a cross by the very people he came to save and he forgave us of our trespasses.

Side note: If you ever feel so victimized to where you feel like suicide is your only option, know that Christ has a greater plan for your life. Know that there is always someone to reach out to and to talk to. 

Blessings,

Elizabeth Louise 

Leave a Reply

