Uncategorized

The Day My Life Was Turned Upside Down

You wake up. Maybe hit snooze on your alarm once or twice. Get showered and dressed. Brush your teeth and head out the door to work or school. Add or minus a few things.

You get in your car and then you make it to your destination. Right?

Or so we want to think that’s usually the case. For me however, a year  ago my life got turned upside down. I mean that in the very real sense.

I took a left hand turn and got hit on the rear passenger side. The car flipped twice. All I remember was waking up upside down and hanging from my seatbelt. Thank God for seat belts. Seriously. As I regained consciousness I started to look around at the broken glass everywhere, eventually I began panicking and began trying to figure out how in the heck I would get out of the car and get myself standing right side up. Somehow I managed to get out of the car. I remember someone helping me, after that I’m not sure. It’s all a blur.

I spent the night in the hospital due to a concussion and bleeding to the brain. For weeks afterwards I was sore to the point where I could hardly move. I remember feeling like a truck and train had simultaneously run me over. I began to attend yoga classes at a local gym daily. Sometimes even twice a day.

I would get on my mat and start using that time to talk with God. “God I am so beyond frustrated. I don’t understand what you are doing in my life or the purpose you’ve given me.”  Sometimes I would actually go into child’s pose and cry while talking to God. Yoga didn’t just help me lose weight or provide with me fitness hour. It helped me find purpose in all the anxiety and frustrations of life. At a moment in life when I was questioning what God had in store for my life and why He had kept me alive, yoga provided me with a time to worship Him and talk to Him.

I realized that sometimes in the midst of all the chaos in life, God turns our lives upside down to re-direct us down the path He intends for us. Sometimes God turns us upside down to grab our attention and re-center our lives and tell us that we’ve been driving down the wrong side of the road.

Friends and family, figuratively speaking let’s let God turn our lives upside down and lead us down the road He has planned for us. Let’s meet God on the mat or wherever He may call us to experience His daily grace and love. Let’s seek Him out daily even in the midst of the chaos.

 

img_0806

 

 

img_0922

Leave a Reply

