Hand Those Reins Over to God.

Recently I received an e-mail.

After reading it I had to laugh at God’s sense of humor. After weeks of worrying whether or not I would hear back from churches about whether or not they wanted Holy Yoga classes, here it was. The e-mail that made me laugh. And of course smile.

The e-mailed simply stated was from a local church in the area expressing an interest in having about two-four yoga classes a week there.

I had to sit there and appreciate the timing. I’ve been so worried and scared. I’ve been wondering what God’s plan was for me. I have made list upon list upon list writing down all the churches I was thinking of calling and talking to. I think I have a few new grey hairs. It got me thinking though. Why do we doubt God? Why do we struggle with waiting on God’s timing? Why do we struggle with trusting God?

There are many ways to answer this but I believe one of the best ways to begin to answer this is to start by understanding the basic need inside of us that we all desire to be in control. We like to know how our lives will turn out. We want to know what job we will have, where we will live, who we will marry. We want to know when we have to be at events and at what time. We like to be the ones planning our life out.

It scares us when we are not in control and have to rely on God. It scares us that there are things in life that we need help from God on or cannot do on our own. It scares us just thinking about the possibility that maybe our plans to be a Doctor or a NFL player may not be what God wants for us, and instead He may want us to open our own restaurant or open an orphanage.

One of my favorite bible verses is the following: Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

GOD is sovereign. GOD is all-knowing. GOD is all-powerful. GOD knows everything we will ever say or have said. GOD knows what we will do and all that we have done. GOD is the very meaning of love. GOD is omnipresent.

Just to list a few of the characteristics of God.

We all struggle with letting go of the reins and handing them over to God. Especially when we know that His plans for our life far exceed our expectations or any plans we could want for ourselves. We all struggle with handing the reins over to God, and instead we worry.

This year lets start handing those reins over to God and allowing Him to lead us through whatever life may hand us or throw at us. Let’s not worry when it may take a month to hear a response from a job, or find an apartment or finally get that new car you’ve always wanted.

handled

 

 

Leave a Reply

